top of page
  • ceh293

Studio Diary- Still life saving the day!

Welcome back to my blog!


This week has been a big eye opener in the sense of how I like to paint. I am a person who has to be in this 'zone' and love getting lost into the paint. However with a pandemic creeping outside my window taking my attention its quite hard to get into that zone, I now believe I've learnt to adapt.

Because of all of the distractions of working from home aswell as obvious current unforeseen circumstances it is hard to get inspired some days. Trying to get out of the 'rut' as my family say is the hardest but once you start it feels so much better, I feel so lucky to have painting to keep me going its a lovely escape from life!

However on the days I am especially uninspired I will push myself to paint. Still life is a lifesaver in the sense helping me get my head back into the paint. Not only does still life help me get my head back into painting it allows me to try various elements like grounds, new ways scrape and wipe back paint, constructing a piece and the most importantly experimenting with various ways to represent light.


Glass still life (unfinished), Acrylic on board, 29.7 x 21cm, 2021


This still life was blessing! I felt my motivation and inspiration flood back while painting. I consider the layering the strongest part of this painting, especially around the bottom of the glass where I was able to show reflections on my desk and this gave me lightbulb moments for my road series!


I asked my Sister because I was curious on her opinion of the piece. I treated her opinion like a stranger spectating my work in an exhibition. She was mostly fascinated by how believable I painted the glass, on how I created the illusion of a transparent object by leaving the ground colour in the object. My fathers opinion very different, he was more bemused at looking at the colours rather than seeing it as a still life, his favourite colour being the pink/crimson I used as the ground for this piece. I love hearing my families opinions on my pieces they all see something different to one another.

Below I have added close ups of the piece because I think it is so interesting to zoom into work because most of the time it can be more interesting than the painting as a whole therefore when I research various artist i enjoy zooming into their work to see if it has the same effect. Until next time happy painting! Cerys






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page