top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- Semi abstract or full abstract?

Welcome back to my blog!


The project I have been creating has been challenging, trying to keep the abstract and the realistic elements to be cohesive. The problems that usually occur is that the two styles are to contrasting, because of the high amount of abstraction that has been added to the road to compare with the surrounded area. And because of this they become separate

To try to resolve this problem I purchased some Liquitex acrylic pens to help sharpen the work and help towards bringing some abstraction into the surrounding area aswell as the road. I have enjoyed using the acrylic pens they have been a big help in allowing me to have the freedom to be looser in other parts of the painting. for example in a the painting Cymylog I have used the pens to introduce some vibrancy to an overall dull painting without.


Cymylog, Acrylic on board, 21x29.7cm, 2021.


By having the zing of blue and yellow brings another exciting interest to the piece, I wanted to bring this notion into future work or current work in progress.

Therefore this week I have been trailing using abstract elements in this way and I believe it has been successful however there is a way to go with this aspect because the work is never finished there is always something to change and improve.

The palette always evolving, especially in the painting I'r mynyddoedd. I have started to become more confident with applying colour into the landscape. It was a hard composition to solve because of the shape and length of the road, I was very used to creating pieces which evolve mostly road however this piece involving the surrounding landscape more. I do enjoy this in the piece especially painting the mountain scape because it brings more light into the piece and is a good subject of interest to allow the eye to naturally move around the piece. But was I going away from the project itself or was it a natural progression that was the question I would love to be able to answer, one answer I can give is I always have this natural drive to better myself each painting and by experimenting I consider that time worth spending, even if the result is not what I wanted to come out I have learnt something by doing that rather than thinking I wonder what will happen?

Until next time! Happy painting! Cerys



I'r mynyddoedd, Acrylic on board, 21 x 29.7cm, 2021





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page