top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- Importance of painting to me

Welcome back to my blog!


Everybody has a hobby that just makes them feel good, something that helps relieve the stress from everyday life. Could be going out surfing for the day, collecting vintage treasures or gardening. Mine will and always will be painting! The past 2 weeks have been hard for me, I lost someone very dear to me but painting was there, it helped keep my mind occupied while grieving. Still life is something I paint mostly when life become s hard because they feel natural to me and like second nature. When life feels chaotic I feel still life is something I can control, I can choose the scene and colours. 2 examples of still life below;


Still life of shelf, Acrylic on board, approx. 24.5x24.5cm, 2021


Close up of wine glass, Acrylic on board, approx. 24.5x24.5cm , 2021


Therefore this week I've taken a step back to look at my work. As I said in and earlier blog post (Studio diary- compositions) I am currently struggling to compile interesting compositions that make sense. That is why this week was a week of investigation, visiting places I haven't been able to because of the stay at home restrictions which got lifted last weekend (what I found below), I would love to try and create a piece which echo's the castle in some way I feel it would elevate my work!

I am very excited for the times to come, and I have some exciting ideas and work to get on with for you to see! until next time blog happy painting everyone! Cerys



Photograph, Conwy 2021

Photograph, Conwy, 2021


Sketch from sketchbook, Pencil on paper, A4, 2021



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page