top of page
  • ceh293

Studio Diary- New Skills

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my Blog!

After the bumpy week I had last week I have started to see my work starting to come out exactly how I imagined and this is thanks to my new mindset and equipment. I have also changed my way of mixing colour, I have pre made colours in jars in my studio them being, Orange to create the under sketch, a general road colour, Purple road shadow, Blue road shadow and a lilac for general highlights where needed, this has really helped my painting's being consistent and less muddy.

Under painting


The image above is an example of how I start my paintings now, I will start with 1 colour, at the moment my chosen sketch colour is orange, because I love how it brings the warmth back into a rather cold composition, I use my Blade tool to make sure my lines are sharp and pointed in the right directions and using my original sketch to refer back to perspective.

After that i start to add on layer on layer. and up to now it looks like this;


Happy valley, Acrylic on canvas, approx 42.0 x 59.4cm


Still very much in need of more work however my basic colours are there and now its just playing around with colours. I feel this technique really suits me now, It helps me slow down therefore I'm not frantically creating.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page