top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- the beginning of the end

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my Blog!


This week has been strange, working from home without my peers/friends around me is something I cant get use to, because I enjoy working then having the opportunity to see what others are creating because this helps and inspires me. They give me advice and I give some back in return, I am really missing that. I do not see me having this back because we had an email explaining we wont be back until Easter and that is not for definite. I hope one day I will be able to see them again for now chin up and video call because its the best we can do right now, a make shift studio experience because after all communication is key!


This week I have been experimenting with ideas I have collected over Christmas period in trying various ways to applicate, take away and trying possible colour palettes.

I started by creating a painting depicting a snowy day at the bottom of my hill which I created on new years eve because I felt there was a atmosphere that day, like a feeling of excitement, relief and positivity on the future, now looking back we should have thought a bit more realistic but that feeling is still evident in my sketch;


Sketchbook, Watercolour on paper, page is 29.7 x 21 cm




Untitled (unfinished), Acrylic on board, 29.7 x 21 cm


the painting wasn't the best representation of what I envisioned for this idea, the mass of buildings were not letting the eye naturally be brought into the landscape therefore something drastic needed to be done.

The process was the same as my earlier work using a red underground and orange to sketch. It was nice composition to experiment with layering and various colours to represent snow but there is more I could try, and this was a learning curve.

When looking for inspiration I found a old palette from a workshop and used this as my palette for this piece, just goes to show how important colour logbooks are for future inspiration.

There is so much to try with this painting and i will update you on the changes and new inspirations, until next time! happy painting, stay positive, Cerys.


Palette, acrylic on paper, page is 29.7 x 21 cm



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page