top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- experimenting with palette knife

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my blog!

Last week I had my first practical workshop, the basic principal of the lesson was to purely use a palette knife to create a still life scene by just using Black and white acrylic paint. It felt so freeing just using the palette knife to board, Loved the feeling of the paint against a hard surface like a board. I feel everyone had such a different interpretation of the same scene which is so bizarre and interesting to me; others used a white background and like me some used a black background, it really brought our own individuality on how we solve a problem out like a Still life and i feel that was the best outcome that came out of the workshop.



Still life (workshop), Acrylic on board, Approx 21 x 29.7 cm, 2020



After my Group tutorial I came out knowing my more laboured work lack that spark in them, therefore I created more rapid paintings this week, still going with the theme of my hometown, a handful came out looking good but that feeling was still not there for me. to Get my mind off the paintings I decided I would focus on somewhere different on a larger canvas, because maybe it was the size that was restricting me? that's is when the Consti painting came in, I feel this is a big improvement from my work, bigger brush marks really helped I'm sure! when in doubt... size up! its still far from finished but at the moment I am excited to where this is going


Consti hill, Acrylic on canvas, Approx 42.0 x 59.4cm



This week I carried on to paint new compositions on boards and canvases, I feel canvases seem to be my favourite surface at the moment to paint, because of how soft the surface is and has some bounce to it while using palette knife. I usually use board as a surface to do rapid paintings and just get a composition down, in other words a coloured plan. Therefore my natural way of progression is from initial sketch to a rapid painting on board to identify colours then to canvas.

The coming weeks aims is to create more canvases or at least start and to finish off previous works. while also creating rapid pai9ntings for canvases in the future.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page