top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- Compositions

Hi welcome back to my blog!


This week I would like to touch upon compositions as a subject. I believe it is the hardest thing to understand as an artist. I struggle mostly with balance in a piece for instance the image below when creating it I felt there was something missing but I couldn't but my finger on what that was. However once my tutor had a look she could tell straight away I needed a lamp post or tree in the right side of the composition to balance the composition a bit more.



Unfinished, Acrylic on board, 21x29cm, 2021


Now with the knowledge that my compositions need strengthening I can move on to create better work and take more time to plan my paintings out and think is this interesting? before putting paint to board. My work is starting to come out now like I want! which is exciting. Below is an example of work in progress that is exciting me this week. It reminds me of a painting that Tom Voyce created. Palette and location couldn't be more different, but in the way we constructed is similar.

To a great week of painting full of positivity, happy painting readers- Cerys



Unfinished, Acrylic on board, 21x29cm, 2021



Wairoa (Hawkes Bay), (40 x 30cm), oil on board.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page