top of page
  • ceh293

Studio Diary- Basic mistakes

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my blog!


This week has been trying at times, however with struggle come's realisation. when looking back at my pieces they have started to become more and more abstract as I go along and that is not a bad thing! My work involves abstract and realism elements combined in landscapes, which can be a hard concept to execute but I hope my pieces will be successful.

my work has verged slightly not completely changed but more naturally developed. two main changes have occurred one being my ground I have decided to experiment, because I now know the red is succesful and works well as a ground colour however I would I believe it would be exciting to try various grounds, because the colour can change everything about a composition.

And secondly the scene, last semester my work was mainly focusing on the wet autumn road in Wales but now in winter going towards spring the weather is much colder which brings another challenge and I'm not shy to a challenge!


Unfinished and Untitled (progress image), Acrylic on board, approx. 21cm x 29.7cm


Above is an example of a new ground I am trying, it doesn't work as well as a violet and a red do, it was beneficial to try just to see what the outcome was. I liked the areas in the sky where the yellow has just about seeped through the hazy lilac colour I have used, but I believe the ground lacked in the road, if I was to use a lilac it might have translated much better.

It wasn't only the ground that brought the painting down. The road itself did not translate as a road, my tutor on first glance saw it as snowy steps, which I instantly saw and this was because of my bad placement of light. The light presumably in this coming from the right of the composition which means the rail on the left should be lit up more, basic mistakes that I just did not notice!


Untitled and unfinished, Acrylic on board, approx.21 x 29.7cm


In my first semester as I explained in other blog post it was a a breakthrough for me, and I hope this semester I will have an even bigger and greater one! if I just put the same amount of energy right to the very last minute. More importantly paint myself, I don't mean a self portrait, even though it sounds very much like that, however to use my painting like my fingerprint something that is very individual to me. exciting things to come! until next time happy painting! Cerys

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page