top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- Abstract

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my blog!


My work is now coming along nicely, I wanted to use this post to discuss a way I experiment with layering and colour palettes. As Artists' we are always trying out various ways to applicate paint or to create a convincing aswell as interesting compositions.

In the painting I have included below I enjoyed trying out various ways to use layering to show the yellow underground, this being a more successful painting using yellow to compare with the examples in the earlier blog (studio diary- basic mistakes). Still with its flaws however I hope in time it will become as good or even better than it is now because there is potential.

From this me and my tutor discussed maybe experimenting by creating smaller abstract paintings to help towards creating my final landscapes.


Untitled and unfinished, acrylic on board, 21 x 29.7cm



Using viewfinder on painting to find composition possibilities



Using viewfinder on painting to find composition possibilities


I started looking for composition ideas by using a view finder on the painting and you never know how many small paintings you have in one until you do this, I very much recommend when you are stuck or in a rut look at your paintings in a different way you will be surprised what you can find!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page