top of page
  • ceh293

Studio diary- A painting warm up

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my blog! this week I will be discussing how important still life is for my painting practice.


I feel when I first come to my studio in the morning/afternoon, I don't feel ready at all to jump right in to what I started the night before, therefore I feel a warm up is always in order, to get me ready to paint and settle into my canvas; Therefore sometimes I will either do a rapid painting or if the artist that shares my studio with brings a fruit in I will always paint it. I feel by doing this it warms my eyes up to tones I need in my paintings to give that illusion of a bright surface.


Still life, Acrylic on board (both), approx 29.7 x 21 cm (both) , 2020


they are both very different in compositions and colour. I did spend more time on the apple and that is why its become laboured in areas, I still do like it as a whole however I do prefer the more recent painting which in the image above is the painting of the oranges on the right, it has more varied mark making than the apple ever did, my marks are confident and minimal.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page