top of page
  • ceh293

Studio Diary- A bumpy week

Updated: Feb 21, 2021

Welcome back to my Blog!

I had one of them weeks every artist dreads, a week nothing seems to be going right. I felt my paintings were not coming out as I wanted/planned. My inital sketches had this essence about them, a glow, however when translating this to paint it would never come through as well as my sketch. After my tutorial I felt I needed a change of technique or even palette; I was very lost!

Therefore I had a break of creating for a weekend and stepped back to look at what I had created and tried to pick out what was not working. I decided it was a couple of reason; My colour palette was my strength however I never mixed up enough colour for it to go far, and that could be a big reason why my paint became very muddy and sloppy? Also my lines were not sharp, and needed to find a way to rectify this. However the main reason I came up with I was giving myself too much pressure, wasn't into what I was creating, and this needed to change!

I decided to change the sharpness first, I decided to research artist to see how they execute this perfectly, and the key to it is equipment!, to me a few weeks ago I thought of this as cheating in a strange way and I have no idea why I thought like that. Tom Voyce was the Artist that inspired me highly when I was struggling, and looking back I now understand the importance of reflecting and taking a step back.


;What has saved me the past week!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page