top of page
  • ceh293

Studio Diary-A break-through!

Updated: Feb 4, 2021

Welcome back to my blog! in this post I will be discussing my breakthrough and how it came to be.

After creating some purely abstract landscape composition last week (which you can refer to my older blog posts to remind yourselves), I decided that my paint application was not what was needed to paint my wales it needed something with more layers? thick application gave it the warm look which I don't want in these. Therefore this week I went back to my sketchbook to collect more interesting roads, in interesting simply mean how the road looks as a whole; the curves or the shadows that lay on the road, however I decided I loved the look of rain on road and especially when the sun shines on the road bringing different shades and shapes.

example of this below;


I decided to paint this image after seeing many shapes in the shine of the road, in my sketch you can see how I picked out lines and shapes not to exaggerate too much however just a notch, with notes around to help when coming to the final image


Sketchbook, pencil on paper, page is 29.7 x 21 cm


The final painting I was very happy with and I felt as if this was my break-through painting, and I will explain why; it was made on board and I feel if it was on canvas it wouldn't have worked as well because of the nature and texture of the canvas and I need a hard surface to apply layer on layer and use my blades and ruler to execute my straight lines. This week I decided to use ground colours because before I use to use the brown of the board as a starting point however I enjoyed painting with a red underground because the heat o the colour would come up through the cold colours on the road. however I did need to be careful not to use the red to much and use it to my advantage, therefore transparent colours are the best to execute this. I have also been using my tool's to my advantage not only to execute them straight lines also to imprint the trees onto the board. Happy painting! Cerys


Abstracting landscape, acrylic on board, approx 29.7 x 21 cm

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page